Senior Management Team

The Senior Management Team is responsible for the leadership, strategy and priorities of the organisation, for the delivery of the Business Plan and Budget, and for the overall day to day running of the business.

To find out more about our leadership team click on the photo’s in the organisation chart shown below.

SPI Laser's Senior Management Team

What’s it like to work for SPI Lasers?

SPI Lasers cast

Mike Warner

Job Title: Manufacturing Engineering Group Leader
Joined the SPI Team: 01/08/2011

Was ist der beste oder lohnendsten Sache an Ihrer Arbeit?

Es gibt keine einzige Beste, was über meine Rolle innerhalb SPI Lasers , weil die Belohnungen sehr vielfältig sind . Als produzierendes Engineering Group Lead, habe ich eine Rolle, die mich mit jeder Abteilung innerhalb SPI Interaktion erfordert Änderungen, die Produkte betreffen , Prozesse und Personal .

Als Leiter eines Teams , meine Aufgaben einschließlich Führungs- und Antriebs mein Team auf geschäftliche Anforderungen in einer schnelllebigen Produktionsumgebung sowie die Einführung neuer Verfahren und Technologien aus unserer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung erfüllen. Es ist sehr befriedigend, im Rahmen einer Zusammenarbeit im Team zu arbeiten , neue Projekte steigen von den ersten Konzepten bis hin zur Produktionsumgebungen und Kundenprodukte zu sehen .

Pete Fulford

Pete Fulford

Job Title: SYNCHRO Specialist
Joined the SPI Team: 15/01/2001

 

Wie ist Ihre Karriere bei SPI bisher verlaufen?

Ich bin der SYNCHRO-Spezialist vor Ort bei SPI Lasers.

SYNCHRO heißt die Synchronisierung von Mensch, Material, Maschine und Markt.

Bei SYNCHRO werden Hilfsmittel und Methoden der schlanken Produktion verwendet, um Ausschuss zu vermeiden und die Effizienz (mehr aus den gleichen Ressourcen herausholen) und Effektivität (die Anforderungen des Kunden IMMER erfüllen) zu verbessern.

 

2001 wurde ich von Southampton Photonics als Mechanical Design Engineer eingestellt. Ich arbeitete viele Jahre in der Konstruktion von Faserlasern, bis ich 2007 eine Rolle als Projektleiter für Produkteinführungen annahm. In diesem Zeitraum lernte ich viel über Herstellung und die Interaktion der Konstruktion mit den Produktionsabläufen.

2009 ergab sich eine Gelegenheit, Leiter des Produktsupports zu werden. Dadurch lernte ich die Laser aus einer komplett neuen Perspektive kennen. Bisher hatte ich Laser als Metall, Optik und Schrauben betrachtet.

Unsere Kunden sahen einen roten Kasten, der in ihrem Prozess nicht funktionierte. Für 18 Monate verwaltete ich ein globales Team aus acht Ingenieuren, die versuchten, Richtlinien umzusetzen, die in einer äußerst dynamischen Umgebung bei der Entscheidungsfindung helfen würden.

Im Oktober 2011 begann ich eine Schulung als SYNCHRO-Spezialist in Ditzingen. Die über sechs Monate verteilte, acht Wochen lange Schulung an fünf TRUMPF-Standorten gab mir eine ausgezeichnete Grundlage, um SYNCHRO und schlanke Produktion zu verstehen. Seitdem hat TRUMPF „SYNCHRO plus“ eingeführt, was mein Verständnis der praktischen Anwendung von SYNCHRO noch vertieft hat.

In meiner Rolle unterstütze ich Optimierungsprojekte, schule Kollegen, unterrichte und fördere Mitarbeiter im Fertigungsbereich und helfe allen Mitarbeitern, ihr Verständnis von SYNCHRO und seiner praktischen Anwendung bei Produktions- und Verwaltungsabläufen zu vertiefen.

Sandra Duckett

Sandra Duckett

Job Title: Customer Services Manager (Rugby – UK)
Joined the SPI Team: 15/04/2015

Wie sieht für Sie ein typischer Arbeitstag aus?

Im Kundendienst kann man nur schwer einen Tag als typisch bezeichnen, da jeder Tag von den speziellen Bedürfnissen der Kunden geprägt wird. Ein Kunde kann beispielsweise einen routinemäßigen Kostenvoranschlag für Ersatzteile verlangen oder komplexere Bedürfnisse haben, z. B. Akkreditive, Exportlizenzen, eine Warenverkehrsbescheinigung oder ein Ursprungszeugnis. In internen Besprechungen stellen wir sicher, dass wir die Fristen unserer Kunden einhalten. Wir arbeiten mit unseren Spediteuren zusammen, um konkurrenzfähige Preise für den Versand unserer Produkte anbieten zu können.

Kurz gesagt: Im Kundendienst wird es nie langweilig. Die Arbeit ist fordernd und manchmal anstrengend, aber nach einem guten Tag fühle ich mich sehr befriedigt.

Gareth Lewis

Gareth Lewis

Job Title: Senior Process Development Engineer
Joined the SPI Team: 04/07/2011

 

Wie haben Sie sich seit Ihrem Eintritt bei SPI Lasers technisch und persönlich weiterentwickelt?

Ich nahm 2011 eine Stelle bei SPI Lasers als Prozessentwicklungsingenieur an. Zuvor hatte ich bei verschiedenen Halbleiterherstellern als Prozessingenieur gearbeitet. Bei einem Unternehmen, das Faserlaser herstellt, fand ich mich also in einem recht neuen Fachgebiet wieder. In dieser Rolle konnte ich meine Vorbildung in der Physik mit meiner Erfahrung in der Prozesstechnik kombinieren, um eine Tätigkeit in einem Fachgebiet auszuüben, das mir recht neu war. Ich musste also viel lernen, um die Wissenschaft und Technologie zu verstehen, die in der Herstellung von Faserlasern zum Einsatz kommt. Die hochkompetenten technischen Mitarbeiter von SPI teilten gerne ihr Fachwissen mit mir und halfen mir dabei, mein wissenschaftliches Verständnis so weiterzuentwickeln, dass ich meine Tätigkeit ausüben konnte, bei der ich außerdem neue praktische Fähigkeiten im Zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung von Faserlasern erwarb.

SPI hat mir die Verantwortung über das Prozessentwicklungsteam übergeben. So kann ich mich persönlich weiterentwickeln und meine Karriere fortsetzen. Abgesehen von der praktischen Erfahrung, ein Team aus Ingenieuren und Technikern zu leiten, hat SPI auch in meine Weiterbildung investiert: ich durfte an einem Führungsausbildungskurs teilnehmen, in dem ich meine Führungsfähigkeiten und -techniken weiterentwickeln konnte.

Senior Management Team

The Senior Management Team is responsible for the leadership, strategy and priorities of the organisation, for the delivery of the Business Plan and Budget, and for the overall day to day running of the business.

To find out more about our leadership team click on the photo’s in the organisation chart shown below.

SPI Laser's Senior Management Team

What’s it like to work for SPI Lasers?

Mike Warner

Job Title: Manufacturing Engineering Group Leader
Joined the SPI Team: 01/08/2011

What is the best or most rewarding thing about your job?

There is no single best thing about my role within SPI Lasers because the rewards are very varied. As a Manufacturing Engineering Group Lead, I have a role which requires me to interact with every department within SPI to make changes which affect products, processes, and personnel.

As a leader of a team, my responsibilities including guiding and driving my team to meet business demands in a fast paced production environment, as well as introducing new processes and technologies from our Research and Development department. It is very satisfying to work as part of a collaborative team, to see new projects rise from initial concepts right through to production environments and customer products.

Pete Fulford

Job Title: SYNCHRO Specialist
Joined the SPI Team: 15/01/2001

 

How has your career developed at SPI?

I am the SYNCHRO Specialist on-site at SPI Lasers.

SYNCHRO is the synchronisation of Man, Material, Machine & Market.

SYNCHRO uses Lean Manufacturing tools & methodologies to eliminate waste from processes, to increase efficiency (doing more with the same resource) and effectiveness (meeting customer demand EVERY time).

 

In 2001 I joined Southampton Photonics as a Mechanical Design Engineer. I spent many years designing Fiber Lasers until moving into a Project Management role for New Product Introduction projects in 2007. At that time I learned many news things about manufacturing, and how design interacts with Production processes.

An opportunity to become the Product Support Manager arose in 2009 which helped me to see the Lasers from a very different point of view. I saw the Lasers as metal, optics and screws previously.

Our customers saw a red box that didn’t work in their process. I spent 18 months managing a global team of eight engineers attempting to implement policies to assist decision making in a very dynamic environment.

In October 2011 I travelled to Ditzingen (Germany) to start training as a SYNCHRO Specialist. Eight weeks of training in five TRUMPF sites over six months gave a superb grounding in understanding SYNCHRO and Lean manufacturing. Since then TRUMPF have introduced ‘SYNCHRO plus’ which helped deepen my understanding of the application of SYNCHRO.

In my role; I assist improvement projects, train my colleagues, teach and develop employees on the shop floor and coach people to deepen their understanding and application of SYNCHRO to both Production and Office processes.

Sandra Duckett

Job Title: Customer Services Manager (Rugby – UK)
Joined the SPI Team: 15/04/2015

What does a typical day look like?

It is difficult to describe any day as typical in customer service as each day is driven by customer specific needs. A customer’s requirement can vary from routine quotes for spare parts to the more complex need for letters of credit, export licenses and certificate of movement and origin. There are internal meetings to make sure we meet customer deadlines and visits from carriers to ensure we can offer the most competitive prices for shipping our products.

In short customer service is never dull, sometimes challenging and sometimes taxing but after a good day, very rewarding.

Gareth Lewis

Job Title: Senior Process Development Engineer
Joined the SPI Team: 04/07/2011

 

How have you developed technically and personally since you joined SPI Lasers?

I joined SPI Lasers in 2011 as a process development engineer having previously developed my career in various semiconductor companies as a process engineer. It was therefore a step into a relatively new field of expertise to join a Fiber Laser company. This role allowed me to combine my physics education with my process engineering skills to realise a role in a field relatively new to me. It was therefore a very steep learning curve to get on top of the science and technologies unique to Fiber Laser manufacture. SPI has a core of highly competent technical staff that were happy to share their knowledge and help me develop the scientific understanding required to fulfill this role while the job naturally provided new hands on skills associated with Fiber Laser development.

SPI has also allowed me to develop personally and take my career forward by giving me the responsibility of managing the process development team. As well as the hands on experience of managing a team of engineers and technicians SPI has invested in my skills by providing the opportunity to go on a leadership development course providing valuable training in management skills and techniques.